April '23

Singapore, friends, and more...

pjmanning

Singapore, friends, and more...

While March was pretty boring - April started with a bang 💥

Here's what's been going on...

  • Singapore trip

  • Costa Rica Visitor (Jimmay!)

  • Getting kicked out of our home 😱

CURRENTLY IN SINGAPORE/KERAMAS

We went to Singapore in the beginning of the month and it was a great change of pace. I haven’t been in Singapore (outside of the airport) in about a decade which is crazy because I’ve stopped at the airport so many times. It’s such a clean, safe, and beautiful city. Tiny and expensive though. If you had a baller job it’d be a nice place to live.

In Bali, the seasons started to change - swells have most DEFINITELY picked up. But the winds also changed giving you only a couple hours in the morning for favorable winds. Since the WSL competition was in Western Australia this month all the pros have been in and out of Bali which always creates a weird frenzy of fanboy crowds.

When we came back from Singapore, we had some nice time to cheel with my old roommate from Costa Rica, Jimmy, which was amazing. Honestly, I don’t have the types of friends here in Bali as I had in CR. Santa Teresa was a unique place at that time and collected some awesome people. Would love to recreate that community somewhere else around the world as ST got slutted out the same as Canggu here in Bali.

In other news - the 'hotel' we were living at told us they wanted 1 of the 2 rooms we had back to rent. So we had a mad dash to find a new place. But when mother Bali has a plan for you … it just always works out. A friend had a long-term rental that just became available…across the street from the hotel…and it’s AMAZING! Pics in next update ;)

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

Work has gotten super frustrating. Delays and blockers across the entire team so a lot of stress and an inflexible due date of 6/30. Don’t wanna talk about it to be honest.

… PS Angular suuuuuuuucks

PROJECTS

No updates. 😢

Honestly - just defeated at this point. Between work, helping my girlfriend with her job and getting set up in the new house - I’ve been a stressed mess. I realize how important it is for me to create - without it I feel depressed.

I love surfing, traveling, and creating. And I’ve barely done any of those the past few months and it’s eaten me. I feel lost without them. It’s like the opposite of burnout.

Hope to have something for you soon.

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in May...

Chile

CONTENT

Remote Work

Tech

Finance

Product of the Month

People try to get away from it all—to the country, to the beach, to the mountains. Which is idiotic: you can get away from it anytime you like. By going within.

-Marcus Aurelius