August '23

Stuck in Bali 🌋🌊

pjmanning

Does anybody actually work in August?? 🤔 🤣

Here's what's been going on...

  • Enjoyed the beauty of Galungan and Kuningan 🙏

  • Passed the Vue.js Certification program 👨‍💻

  • I got fat 🎅🏻 🍪 90kg! (I’m 185cm so 80-82kg is my sweet spot)

Galungan at Penglipuran Village

CURRENTLY IN EAST COAST, BALI

After the launch of my new service TravelDeveloper, I took a bit of time to chill (always happens after a launch 😜). Between work, getting a new project out the door, and other responsibilities, I really struggled to keep in shape. The surf has been HUGE and windy - and there’s not much else exercise I get so I ballooned to maybe the fattest I’ve ever been 90kg (198lbs)…don’t worry I won’t ever post mirror selfies 😂.

Here’s a view of one of my favorite restaurants though…while Bali’s packed - if you know the spots it’s still heaven ;)

monkey table

To combat this I bought myself a fresh stick to motivate my fat ass 🍑 Hoping to get back down to 82kg by the end of October.

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

Sooo after 6 months of painfully working on an Angular project with a team of 18 (4 being UI developers) - the team got pulled apart to work on other projects and and now the team is only about 5 people and I’m the only full-time UI developer on the project 😳

…no words 😂

If I could give anyone any advice looking for a dev job…

  • Stay at a small company (<50 people - I think ideally 10-20). That way you don’t have layers of BS…managers, project managers, product owners, executives, etc. Impossible to get anything done and causes constant friction.

  • Don’t go into finance unless it’s cutting edge tech (i.e. blockchain, or somewhere the tech is glorified). Finance relies on tech, but they don’t care about it or the team - they just expect it to work.

  • If in an interview they emphasize if you know SCRUM / Agile / JIRA…ask them why they use it and if you can see an example of a ticket or sprint. Just because these teams use these strategies/software doesn’t mean jack shit. So many bullshit meetings wasting everyone’s time and you get tickets like, “Make SSO - Enable user login.” 😳 No designs. No instructions.

PROJECTS

I’ve gotten a few interested people / companies in TravelDeveloper, but no takers yet, so I’ve kept my intro pricing (50% off!). I think I’m going to keep this pricing through the end of 2023 to get the ball rolling.

PS If you have a project and you’re interested in working together…just book a call through the site to see if it’s right for you. Even bigger homie discounts for newsletter subscribers ;)

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in September...

Bali, Indonesia

CONTENT

Business

Remote Work

Product of the Month

I added 3 this month because they’ve all recently launched and there’s a great race to be the best new email tool. No more sendgrid/mailchimp/postmark :)

Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.

-Henry David Thoreau