December '23

Life Nuke 💣 🤯

pjmanning

Happy 2024 🎉🎊🥳

Here's what's been going on...

  • End of a 2+ year relationship 💔

  • First time in Thailand 🇹🇭

  • Extended stay in Lombok 🇮🇩

Yeah it was a heavy month…

CURRENTLY IN LOMBOK 🇮🇩

Sooo long story short after a rollercoaster of a year, my girlfriend and I split up at the beginning of December. It was super difficult for both of us after 2+ years - especially living in the same house, having to move all my things, taking care of the dog, etc. On top of that, I had to take a trip out of the country for a stamp 🛂 before Christmas.

…wasn’t the ideal precursor to a trip I’ve wanted to take for awhile…

Going home was definitely on my mind, but I still have too many things and the dog in Indo so I had to do a quick trip before I figure out the future.

I’ve put off Thailand for a long time and didn’t have time to do much, but thought it’s cheap so why not go test out a long weekend in Bangkok to get a feel. I don’t think there could’ve been a better choice during such an emotional time than to spend a long weekend visiting Buddhist temples…

Bangkok has so much more depth than I thought. Fun little fact that I didn’t know that probably adds to this - it was the only country in SEA to not be colonized by a western country. You can definitely feel the richness of Thai culture there it’s amazing.

 

And it’s not only the Thai culture that’s amazing. Bangkok has to be one of the best cities I’ve been to in the world hands-down. Amazing culture, super safe, best food markets in the world, nice parks, great restaurants, insane malls, and nicest people. Ohh yeah and it’s probably one of the most affordable cities 🤔 (uhh something doesn’t make sense). And I didn’t even touch the nightlife - too fragile and wasn’t prepared 😆 although I did indulge in some of the hundreds of legal marijuana shops….yes, weed is now completely legal in a country that had some of the harshest penalties a few years ago 🤯

View from the hotel

When I got back from Bangkok it was a mission straight to the ferry and over to Lombok for Christmas and New Years.

Waiting in line to board the ferry in the midday sun

Moto made it in the very last spot 😅

Lombok vibes…

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

Thank God for Jesus 🤣🎄

Seriously - I was at a near breaking point with relationship struggles, traveling, and working crazy hours before Christmas break.

Having off for almost two weeks was ammmazing. I got time to get into a normal routine and slow down here in Lombok which is beautiful and spacious. It reminds me of my old stomping grounds in Costa Rica before that town exploded (sure to happen here within 5 years).

PROJECTS

Still got TravelDeveloper going for the intro price - 50% off… respond to the newsletter and maybe I’ll give you even more of a discount.

I’m also planning to launch my new project sometime in the next month or 2 if you want to sign up and get notified when it launches…

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in January...

Hawaii

CONTENT

Surf

Remote Work

Product of the Month

Don't let getting lonely make you reconnect with toxic people. You shouldn't drink poison just because you are thirsty.

-Anonymous