February '24

New favorite month of the year 🏄🏻‍♂️

pjmanning

‘Tis the season in Keramas 🌊 It’s funny how location can totally change your perception (one of the benefits of being mobile). In NJ - February is probably the month people least look forward to…frigid, barely any sunlight, limited days off…but in Keramas it’s the perfect season 🌊 🏄🏻‍♂️ 🌦️

Here's what's been going on...

  • Went rafting & visited an abandoned park

  • Enjoyed another New Year (Chinese) in Singapore

  • Surf finally hit the east coast

Gardens by the Bay - Singapore

SINGAPORE 🇸🇬 & KERAMAS 🇮🇩

One new year wasn’t enough, so I took a trip to Singapore and spent a looong holiday weekend mostly in Chinatown. Gotta say - as much as I dislike China from a geopolitical POV (and general US competitor) - their culture and history is soo rich and beautiful.

Singapore Changi Airport - just like JFK huh ;)

Also, as part of my newly single, self-care package 😆 I went to a place called Mito to get my blood work and start tracking my health a bit better (essentially the InsideTracker of Singapore). I get decent exercise walking the dog and surfing, but my sleep schedule and diet have been pretty terrible so I wanted to see my baseline numbers and what I could optimize to feel better. Highly suggested! Especially if you live in the 1st world and it’s a bit easier to do. This will definitely be the new normal in healthcare.

After a nice break in Singapore, I got back to Bali, solo toured an abandoned park that has houses from every province in Indonesia (sooo cool!), went on an awkward whitewater rafting trip with a mixed group from Russia and Ukraine, and finally moved into the old house and got my epic desk setup back!

Taman Nusa - overgrown from being closed during COVID

Sidemen rafting stop

🤓

Back to work and surf 😉 

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

I got a bonus 🤷‍♂️ taxed at 40% 🙃

Seriously stings when you live out of the country the entire year and it doesn’t even pay for something like healthcare. I guess something is better than nothing…

I’m still at the same job - plugging away on Angular - still getting dumber but more rich by the day 🤣 🤷‍♂️. Planning the escape this year…

Made me think of this post I saw about a member of Parliament in Singapore…they’re doing a lot of things right there…

PROJECTS

There’s only 1 spot open for the time being for the Travel Developer Pro plan…

Haven’t had time to work on StayLT but you can still sign up to be notified when it launches…tbd

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in March...

Pichilemu, Chile

pichilemu surf

CONTENT

Surf

Remote Work

Travel

Product of the Month

A man who dares to waste one hour of time has not discovered the value of life.

Charles Darwin