July '23

Birthday & Personal Project 🎉

pjmanning

Finally got a bit into a groove during my birthday month.

Here's what's been going on...

  • Celebrated the big 3-5 🎂

  • Met up with some old friends in Uluwatu 🏝️

  • Launched a site for my new freelance service 👨‍💻

  • Went to Singapore 🇸🇬 … yes again 🤣

If you know, you know 🌋 🇮🇩

CURRENTLY IN EAST COAST, BALI

Life’s been a bit boring to be honest. The waves are pummmping in Bali - and I’m quite a bit out of shape so haven’t been surfing too much.

It was my birthday July 18th (shoutout to any fellow bday twins) - which I spent up in Kintamani (pictured above). Love the cool crisp air and sipping a hot coffee at that gem. Our hotel was double booked so we ended up having to come home (was NOT happy at the hotel), but then my neighbors surprised me with a cake which made everything perfect in the end.

 

Other than that, some of the COVID-crew that ended up leaving Bali when things opened up came back to visit. My friend Nico has a birthday a few days after mine so he flew in from Margaret River and some other friends visited too. We had an epic Argentinian barbecue on the beach one night and then got a bit hammered the next in Uluwatu. Great times and so good to see some of the community back from COVID times. It is scary and sad to see how quickly Ulu’s is getting built up 😢 - one of the reasons I love the east coast but fuuuck it’ll be coming here one day not too far in the future.

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

After 6 months of painful Angular development - we fiiiinally launched the companies new project. Things went very smooth and uneventful…which actually in software development is fantastic news.

I was 100% burnt out before launch, but things have slowed down a bit since then with mainly bug fixes - so I’m starting to recover as the workload becomes a bit more normalized.

Still need a vacay. Coming Sept 26! 😈🏄🏻‍♂️

PROJECTS

After the company launch - I finally got a new personal project launched. It feels like a breath of fresh air. It’s probably been a year since I launched something new (the last thing was my personal website)…

About 6 years ago, I launched The Complete Travel Developer Course - which was an online course focused on design, development, SEO and how to become a remote freelancer.

Well today - you can pretty much do anything and be a remote worker 🙄 (need to update the course). So in the meantime, I wanted to start getting back into the freelance game…

Lately, productized services have been trending. What is a 'productized service’ - basically, it’s having a set offering of services that customers can subscribe to and pay a monthly fee for (similar to a retainer but a bit more wiggle room).

Soooo I’ve relaunched TravelDeveloper to offer website design and development for a flat monthly fee…

Let me know what you think of the site!

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in August...

Mentawais

CONTENT

Business

Remote Work

Product of the Month

There are only two great tragedies in life: one is not getting what you want and the other is getting it.

-Oscar Wilde