June '23

Singapore and Settlin' (not in Singapore)

pjmanning

Made another trip to Singapore and back to Bali for a grueling month of work 😰

Here's what's been going on...

  • Made the DOPEST desk setup 🖥️

  • Enjoyed some local events 🎉 

  • Launched a work and personal project 👨‍💻

The new setup is 🔥

CURRENTLY IN EAST COAST, BALI

So we’ve finally settled. Honestly - it feels weird for me… as my Nana always said, “you never stay in one spot to get your feet wet”.

And I realize why…

It’s so easy to get into bad habits or routines - if you don’t reset they can last for weeks, months, years, decades… even a lifetime 😳 💀

That’s what I think happens to a lot of people that never leave their hometown. And there’s no where guarded from this. Everywhere on this planet is in a bubble - I think you need to get out every once in awhile to grab a fresh perspective and reset.

For me - I’ve always found it rejuvenating to travel every 2-4 months. It’s usually the time when I start to get into “boring” routines. Boring = lazy and just by a change of scenery it keeps my mind and body fresh.

So we went to Singapore in the beginning of June and visited some new areas of the city whilst doing a little shopping for the new house. After being booshie for a weekend, we came back and created my favorite desk setup of my life (a bonus of staying in one place for a long time - buying thiiiings).

After spending too much money on the house - we went to a lokal festival on the beach and the following weekend to the Ubud Food Festival. Another bonus of settling is becoming part of a community.

Surf’s been a bit crowded at Keramas even though it’s not the “season” for the east coast of Bali - so I’ve only been grabbing a few waves here and there when I can get around work. The hours are killing me and I’m yearning to get back into a daily surf routine…. just ordered a new board tho so that’s exciting.

Bussorah Street in Singapore

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

This past month was absolutely bruuuutal.

I haven’t taken a day off work (my company only gives 10 days per year). And we were required to launch a new product by the end of the month. We got there - but it wasn’t without complete burnout. Need a vacay soon.

The product took 16 people and 6 months 🤑…really could’ve been done with 3 people in 2 months with proper tooling if you ask me.

PROJECTS

I’m working on one personal project I’ll be (re)launching this month, but in the meantime I did finished a side-project that VueSchool required to get into their freelance program. Built with strict guidelines in a work week. You can check it out below…

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in July...

Jeffreys Bay

CONTENT

Business

Science

Remote Work

Product of the Month

Eat at a local restaurant tonight. Get the cream sauce. Have a cold pint at 4 o’clock in a mostly empty bar. Go somewhere you’ve never been. Listen to someone you think may have nothing in common with you. Order the steak rare. Eat an oyster. Be open to a world where you may not understand or agree with the person next to you, but have a drink with them anyways. Eat slowly. Tip your server. Check in on your friends. Check in on yourself. Enjoy the ride.

-Anthony Bourdain