March '24

Balinese New Year 🥳

pjmanning

Halo! 👋 from the greatest airport in the world yet again…Singapore 🇸🇬. I’m finding myself here more and more these days! I have a dream, that one day all US airports will be as nice as Singapore 😆

Here's what's been going on...

  • Balinese New Year

  • Quality time with the girl - dog that is ;)

  • En route to Thailand for an adventurous April ⛵️

Ogoh-ogoh parade - night before Nyepi (aka the Balinese New Year)

Keramas, Indonesia 🇮🇩

So its the end of the 3rd month of the year and I’ve now had 3 new years.

  • Regular? (Idk what you call Jan 1)

  • Chinese

  • Balinese (Nyepi)

All so very different, but beautiful in their own ways.

I feel Balinese new year always comes at the perfect time for me. Stressing about work, not getting done what I want with goals, etc. And then boom…

Forced reflection.

Nyepi is also called silent day. The night before, each village brings out these giant-sized demons (ogoh-ogoh) that have been worked on by groups throughout the entire year. They then put on a performance in the streets where the entire community comes to watch before the creations are brought to a giant bonfire to burn the bad omens away. After the spirits are dispersed from the land, the entire island goes dark - no lights, nobody allowed on the roads, even the airport closes. While Nyepi is mainly a day for self-reflection, my longtime friend told me the restrictions are so after they burn away the evil spirits they cannot find their way back to Bali.

And now you know why they call it the island of the gods.

While so much of Bali has been prostituted to tourism - the magic still exists, it just takes a little more effort to get off the beaten path and find the true essence.

The silence of Nyepi morning from the backyard

Outside of the new year, I didn’t have too much excitement going on. A few quick day trips, but with the rainy season in full force I didn’t surf much or get out the house too much. Honestly tho…kinnnda digged it 😆. Anytime it’d stop raining in the afternoon I’d take a quick walk with my rice-rat Lily.

Welp, quite literally have to go catch my next flight. Until next month…

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $56.28/month for complete peace of mind

Yes - the price is increasing by $21.20, but they’re getting rid of the $250 deductible so now there is a $0 deductible

…just happened to be the month after I just paid $150 into the deductible after getting sick in Indonesia 😤. Not mad about the timing at all! 😡 😆

digital nomad travel insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

Angular sucks. Deployed another new application at work. Stuffs rolling pretty smoothly. It sucks - but it’s an easy paycheck…I’ve avoided this most of my life, but now I understand how/why people get stuck in a shitty, unfulfilling job.

PROJECTS

Made a quick landing page in a couple hours for StayLT…

Sorry no ETA - traveling and still have lot’s of work work.

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in April...

Lima, Peru

CONTENT

Surf

Watch this… and just wait till the 1:48 mark.

Remote Work

Travel

Watching

Reading

Product of the Month

Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.

Marcus Aurelius