May '23

Same town, new home

pjmanning

Same town, new home…

Like I mentioned last newsletter…we got kicked out of our old house…

But in Bali - things always work out ;)

Here's what's been going on...

  • Moved House 🏠

  • Works been psycho 💻😱💥

  • I need a new board 🏄‍♂️

We got kicked out…and had to settle here ;)

CURRENTLY IN EAST COAST, BALI

Like I mentioned last month - we were booted from our old hotel…

Granted we did have a great deal on the 2 best rooms in the place - it was time for both of us to move on.

The same day we got the word we’d have to leave our rooms, we actually had a local friend reach out who knew some people in town looking to rent their house…and the rest is history :) Mother Bali always takes care of you 🙏

The place is absolutely beautiful and while it’s been a bit hectic getting things for the house - we’ve finally settled into somewhere private that feels like home.

….even the f*ckin’ dog loves it!

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

This has been the weirdest period of living it a prime surf spot that I think I’ve ever felt.

I didn’t go to the beach once in about a month….

Between moving house and a work launch happening June 30…it’s been a bit crazy.

I’ve settled in a bit at work - although I never want to touch Angular again after this project. It suuuuucks! I’m counting the days until this gets launched so I can hopefully move onto a new project with Vue.

It’s been a bit brutal tbh - the company doesn’t value design at all (won’t pay $15/month for Figma), but loves it when I spend extra time making certain pages beautiful 😒

I know if I led a project it would blow people’s minds. It’s tough working in an environment where you feel like you’re working at 20% of your abilities.

PROJECTS

No projects…but it does feel good to finally get one of these newsletters out at a decent time and not 2-4 weeks late 😳

Now that I’m finally settled in an have a desk setup (almost complete!) - I think it’s time to start crankin’ out work!

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in June...

Mentawais

CONTENT

Remote Work

Tech

Finance

Product of the Month

There are only two great tragedies in life: one is not getting what you want and the other is getting it.

-Oscar Wilde