November '23

Giving thanks to Bali 🦃 🙏

pjmanning

Whoops - some things happened in December that delayed this newsletter but let’s catch up on November first.

Here's what's been going on...

  • Lots of dog walks

  • Waves turned off, but wind switched good

  • Solo time at the crib

CURRENTLY IN BALI

After getting back from the Maldives, it was time to get into a routine again. I had the house to myself (with the dog of course), so I got into a nice routine of working, surfing late in the afternoon since the winds have changed, and then walking the dog to this epic spot around sunset every night…

Felt good to start to feel like I’m getting back into shape 💪. Also, since I’ve been working US hours, I’m getting to bed around 5am and by the time I was up Keramas winds were onshore - so I really didn’t surf much at all during the Indo swell season of June, July, August. Really happy the season is finally good for surf anytime of the day in Keramas now.

When I’m in a groove working it’s always good to take some trips away from the house to work from a different location, so I went up to Kintamani a few days to feel some cold and get some views…

Yes, even in Bali the Christmas tree goes up after Thanksgiving 🤣

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

The hours are getting brutal not gonna lie…

Since US daylight savings I now start work at 10PM and end at 6AM. That 1 hour change sucks so much because that’s just as the roosters start and the sun peaks. F*cks with your mind so much trying to get to bed just as that change happens. An hour before still sucked - but wasn’t nearly as bad. Working Maldives time was actually awesome! Start around 6PM to 2AM or so. Still a little late but I’m usually up that late anyway, so it was nice to have the entire day. Honestly working from Europe on a US time zone is probably the best.

PS just a friendly reminder Angular sucks 🤣

PROJECTS

Still got TravelDeveloper going for the intro price - 50% off… respond to the newsletter and I’ll give you a further discount.

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in December...

Santa Cruz, California

CONTENT

Remote Work

Product of the Month

HAPPINESS. — A butterfly, which when pursued, seems always just beyond your grasp; but if you sit down quietly, may alight upon you.

-L. in The Daily Crescent (June, 1848)