October '23

Island time 🐌

pjmanning

I’m not used to this ‘employment’ thing so I took my first holiday in a loooong time 😁🏝️

Here's what's been going on...

  • Surf.

  • Rain.

  • Booze boat.

That pretty much sums up my Maldives month. Oh yeah and really stinky water 🤣 

CURRENTLY IN BALI

I spent pretty much all of October in the Maldives. It was so good to see all the friends from pre-COVID times. And it was also weird because it had been so long there, obviously things had changed - friends had left, businesses closed, new ones opened, and even met some new humans! One thing that wasn’t different was the main surf break I go to - Jailbreaks - one of my favorite waves in the world (well after it’s close neighbor Sultans which I unfortunately didn’t get to surf as much).

October is known as shoulder season in the Maldives - but this season was weird. Apparently this summer was non-stop action and the season cut off quick. I got in 2 solid weeks of surf, but then the swells stopped and the wind and rain wouldn’t. Honestly, some of the biggest storms I’ve been in.

On a boat trip to get tipsy at Club Med

I had a free place to stay for the month - but well - I have a girlfriend 🤣 so had to upgrade to a new digs, which pretty much had the best view on the island. But dammmmn does their water stink (common on the island).

Our room for the month

Even though the waves sucked for 2 weeks to end the trip, we still made the best of it - going to a few places I hadn’t been before and a few snorkeling trips (plentiful rays, sharks, fish, and dolphin). We stayed on a local island (alcohol not allowed), but there was a new booze boat off the island which picked us up nearly every night to have a beer for sunset.

Sandbar bbq

Brought to you by SafetyWing…The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad. I use SafetyWing specifically because…

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It’s $45.08/month for complete peace of mind

digital nomad insurance
safetywing, let's get you insured

WORK

October was the first break I’ve had in 9 months! 2 weeks of vacation in the Maldives was much needed.

Jumping back into work after 2 weeks as the only UI developer was hell.

Now back to the grind 😥

PROJECTS

Still got TravelDeveloper going for the intro price - 50% off… respond to the newsletter and I’ll give you a further discount.

Also, got started on another project for rentals 😜 hopefully have something to show for the next update!

SURF

Waves of the month...

Where to go in November...

Chile

CONTENT

Remote Work

Product of the Month

You should never go to Alaska as a young man because you'll never be satisfied with any other place as long as you live.

-John Muir