PJM - April '22

Happy Sunday! πŸ΄β€β˜ οΈ

Hope you had a great week!

This week includes updates from April (slowly catching up ;) as I've opened up some free time in the routine.

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

PROJECT UPDATES...

NADA!

I've been working hard on proving myself at Wilshire. I finished what they thought would take 2 months in a week so I think I did well ;)

Putting in the time now to hopefully free up some space to get to side projects in a couple months!

It's been a great learning experience using the new Vue3 with Vite. It's just so much fun to develop with. One amazing resource I've found are @antfu's projects...yes projectsss. Guy is on another level building tools. My favorite is Vitesse which is an opinionated Vue+Vite starter with a lot of the developer friendly benefits that I've come to love with Nuxt.

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

BALI,INDONESIA

Yes, Bali has become a base for me :)

In these times of COVID and inflation, it has felt like the best place in the world to live...by far. However, it is a rapidly changing landscape - things are becoming more expensive and more people are coming, staying, and building long-term. I won't even go to some of the popular parts of the island anymore. Influencers and "content-creators" have taken over...

I won't commit to long-term creating a base here until I feel out the changes over the next few months/year. Plus, nomad life is the best (*pending flight prices*).

CONTENT FROM APRIL...

Business | Marketing

Design | Development

DALLΒ·E 2 is a new AI system that can create realistic images and art from a description in natural language. Sam Altman had a good take on this... initially, we thought low-skill jobs would be the first to be disrupted by AI, but now it seems creative jobs may be the first on the chopping block.

Travel

Early in the morning of April 18th, surfers aboard the Blue Star Surf Charter vessel in the Maldives had a rude awakening. The boat hit a reef and sank. I know the owner and had a birthday on this boat - almost made a new website for the boat too. RIP Blue Star β›΄

Where bread is elevated to an art form, strikes are a part of life, and one of the best ways to see the city is from the water...

Science

Sure, you can run machines to decarbonize the air, but where’s the fun in that when you can invite Mother Nature to do the work for you?

Politics

Eye-opening research into how Russian TikTok shows a different side to the war...that is nothing about the war.

"Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty" - Henry Ford