PJM - August '22

Sup sup ya'll :)

August was a whirlwind - dog decisions, weddings, multiple days flying, and my first time going to an office in...ummm...about 6 years 😳

But summer is officially over and local summer has begun 🍻 - a month of perfect weather, light crowds, and hopefully some waves.

I'm in NJ/NY until early November so if you're around hit me up - I always love to catch up with new and old friends in person.

These next few months, I'm really looking forward to getting back to an annual road trip I always did pre-COVID when fall foliage peaks...

  • Catskills (NY)

  • Green Mountains (Vermont)

  • White Mountains (New Hampshire)

  • Acadia National Park (Maine)

Un-real.

Also, looking forward to upgrading all my Apple products :) since those are always much more expensive abroad and I'm about 2.5 years outdated πŸ˜†

PROJECT UPDATES...

Nada.

I played around with some new API's, but honestly between work and traveling I was too stressed to work on any side hustles.

PS...I do have a new project that I'm prepping for at the moment. Stay tuned for the next update ;)

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

NEW JERSEY, USA

Back in my hometown and it feels...like home. I came back for a visit last Christmas but unfortunately, because of Covid, I didn't get to see a lot of my friends and family. This time around things are back to normal ... actually too normal - I need to chill on the "catch up for a few drinks"... every other day πŸ˜…

________________________________________________________________

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

CONTENT FROM AUGUST...

DESIGN | DEVELOPMENT

A great Q&A with Github's founder from 2010.

I always felt like I was a lesser programmer because I never really took onto GraphQL over REST. Glad to see I'm not alone in thinking it sucks. Powerful + efficient, yes - but the dev experience sucks.

REMOTE WORK

Management that opts for empty arguments to force people back in-office will bleed talent to their competition.

Embrace it. Be stoked someone is a hustler. Support them. Empower them. I think it's so rare that it would actually interfere with someone's job.

Old but GREAT piece by Paul Graham about the ways different cities attract different types of people and select for specific types of "success" (ie. money, fame, intelligence, looks, etc.). Been thinking about this topic a lot as Bali opened back up and my favorite remote/surf towns around the world have been ruined in the past years.

SCIENCE

People are freaking out about decreasing freshwater and MIT is like "hold my bottle". Fun fact - the Maldives does this for most the country's drinking supply.

"...low doses of psilocybin mushrooms can result in noticeable subjective effects and altered EEG rhythms, but without evidence to support enhanced well-being, creativity and cognitive function."

BUSINESS

Marc Andreessen's always kinda rubbed me the wrong way. The recent email leaks about being against new condo's coming to his town really show his true colors. Genius investor sure, man of the people - surely not.

This guy is a G! Also, shows you how much internet rates are just pulled outta the air.

I meeeeean? Who's with me? πŸ˜†