PJM - July '22

July has been pretty hectic as I'm packing up and selling things before heading back to NJ for an unknown amount of time πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ (job going unremote and having a dog in Bali that can't leave got me πŸ™ƒ)

We'll see what happens... 🀞

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

PROJECT UPDATES...

Unfortunately July wasn't productive at all on my side projects :(

The full-time job has definitely taken up my full-time. That being said - I could still fit in the side projects if I really wanted, but I'm trying to enjoy my last month here in Bali before heading back to NJ.

On a side note - because I complained enough about having to design and develop features based off of 3 words (and maybe a napkin sketch) and then have to rebuild when they didn't like the first build - my employer is now hiring a full-time UX Designer for the team πŸ§‘πŸ»β€πŸŽ¨ :)

Hit me up if you have any experience and are interested in designing a financial dashboard UI with lots of charts and graphs. They say NJ based 'hybrid' but fuck it if you're good enough maybe I could convince them for remote.

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

BALI/LOMBOK,INDONESIA

While I spent most of the month home in Keramas, I had some time to go explore the neighboring island of Lombok...and god damn is it beautiful.

Endless, empty, white sand beaches with crystal clear blue waters, and amazing scenery on every drive.

CONTENT FROM JULY...

DESIGN | DEVELOPMENT

Seems like every company has a 'DevRel' guy nowadays. Years ago, before it was a position, I used to think these were the smartest guys in the world! They built these systems and explain everything so well...and they're super cool! But now I realize they're just the influencers of coding 🀣. Not in a bad way tho! They actually make it enjoyable to stay up to date with everything about a particular company.

REMOTE WORK

OK - sooo this may be out of an IndieHackers budget at $5K/month ... but it's a start - who knows...maybe I'll start a NomadBoat with 50 people...

A great abstract to learn from the 'Blue Zones' - where people live the longest in the world...key lesson learned: drink more wine.

SCIENCE

Who knew NASA had a blog 🧐

OTHER CONTENT

A tool to calculate the time spent speeding. I've always thought about this when my friends are going 10-15mph faster, but nearly getting into accidents. What's the actual time gained...welp this tool shows you...and yeah it's not worth it.