PJM - June '22

Happy 4th of July! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ πŸ’ͺ

Hope you woke up, cracked a Bud, went to see TopGun in the theater, and then pumped Springsteen all day at your backyard BBQ whilst throwing a πŸ–• in the air to that punk-ass-bitch Putin.

🀣 If you're not American, sorry - it's the one day I relinquish my calm, quiet, international-citizen status and bleed red, white, and blue ;)

Anywho... got that outta my system πŸ˜†... sooo how was June!?

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

PROJECT UPDATES...

I've been working on updating 2 of my projects to Nuxt 3...

When I first started, I came into some errors with Firebase. It's been tricky because the documentation isn't finished on Nuxt 3, so there are many hours spent trying to figure out how to do routine things (ie Authentication). Because everything wasn't working with a Firebase module out of the box, I moved over to working on...

Since Glassy's entire premise is transparency - I thought it better to move off of Google's Firebase and move over to the open source alternative - Supabase. Firebase definitely has more features, is more simple (document database), and has excellent documentation, but it's been fun working with Supabase's open source community. Also, the Nuxt team built a 1st-class module for Supabase so this was a bit more ready to migrate. Should be done end of July!

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

KERAMAS,BALI,INDONESIA

I'm back home in Keramas and exploring what's left that I haven't seen/done in Bali. I have to leave either end of July or beginning of August so that 'ToDo' list is getting checked off. One of the highlights was whitewater rafting in Ubud with friends from around the world.

CONTENT FROM JUNE...

BUSINESS | MARKETING

Unbelievable story about how Under Armour landed Steph Curry.

Breaking down the burger chain's financials.

The story about how Plausible reached $1M annual recurring revenue (ARR) as an open source project. Not an easy feat.

DESIGN | DEVELOPMENT

Now available to all developers for $10 USD/month or $100 USD/year. Ehh I mean I like it - I use it...but this just feels wrong. Profiting off of open-source code. Just feels reeeeally πŸ₯΄

Everything you need to know about web applications in modern web development. This is an EXCELLENT, no-bullshit guide.

Honestly, heard about monorepos but never really understood how they worked. So here it is ;)

Thank. F*cking. God. No more developing for that piece of shit. And no more trying to convince older people why they shouldn't use it.

REMOTE WORK

One of the best super-simple guides I've seen if you're thinking about visiting Bali to surf... oh yeah and work ;)

Indonesia's proposed visa would also give remote workers a tax break on any income earned overseas. No info on the details yet, but rumors it will cost some $$$ or you will need to put a LOT into a bank account (like over $100K).

Offices waste company resources and employees lives.

A good conversation from 2 CEOs Per Borgen from Scrimba and Sondre Rasch from SafetyWing.

SCIENCE

Deep beneath the waves there's a source of power quite unlike any other.

OTHER CONTENT

Listen to soundscapes from around the world.