PJM - May '22

Happy Father's Day, Juneteenth, start of Summer... let's go! πŸ΄β€β˜ οΈ

May went super well for me! I finally got back into the swing of things beginning to work on some side projects...

...and moved to a new location as well 😍

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

PROJECT UPDATES...

I finally got back on the horse...

Sometimes when I take a bit of a hiatus from personal projects whether it be from work/rut/studying/new tech/etc. - I find a good way to get back into the swing of things is to update my personal site!

The build only took a weekend...but I slowly updated bits and pieces over the span of about 1-2 weeks.

The design was inspired by brianlovin.com who basically turned a personal site into a fully functioning social web app.

It wasn't just the design that's updated - it's the first live site I built using Nuxt 3! Super excited :) It's currently running with ServerSideRendering (SSR), but obviously this is static content better served using StaticSiteGeneration (SSG which is in beta). It's still unreal that either way you can just serve it up to Netlify and everything works out of the box...mind blown 🀯. I'm done dealing with GCP/AWS/Azure set ups. Take my money Netlify :)

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

NUSA LEMBONGAN, INDONESIA

Things started to get a bit stale (and crowded 😳) in Bali so we made our way over to a small island off Bali...which is still technically Bali ;)

There's something about 1 road towns that I love. The simplicity, the strong sense of community, lack of choices...yeah I dig it. The only thing that is bruuuutal here is the WiFi - yes...that one thing I currently can't live without. However, Indonesia has extremely cheap mobile data so I simply tethered from my phone for 1 month...ended up costing me ~$30 USD and I didn't even use it all up. I think it was about 120GB πŸ™Œ

CONTENT FROM MAY...

BUSINESS | MARKETING

Paul Graham, founder of YCombinator, wrote this post during the 2008 recession. The same ideas apply...

Shaving is too expensive and is a demonstrative example of how most consumer products are designed to extract more money from you rather than to improve your life, or the world, or to be in any way remotely good...

There’s a common question in Silicon Valley about what makes an extraordinary entrepreneur. Experienced investors point to various traits. Perseverance. Grit. Overcoming adversity. Hustle...

DESIGN | DEVELOPMENT

Find what you should be getting paid. Search 100k+ salaries for different companies, job titles, career levels, and locations.

Interesting perspective to think about when hiring devs...I mean I'd probably fail but good tactic to find those 10x guys ;)

REMOTE WORK

Co-Founder and CEO Brian Chesky shared our design for living and working anywhere with employees around the globe.

What are the possibilities of changing your citizenship as a remote worker? ... A good podcast with the guy who made NomadList.

The meeting's opportunity cost is higher than the price of a new M1 MacBook Pro. If the meeting was pointless, might as well cancel it and fly one of the devs to Bali instead ;)

SCIENCE

Strength training for your breathing muscles? Daily High-Resistance Inspiratory Muscle Strength Training lowers blood pressure and improves vascular health as well as, or even more than, aerobic exercise or medication.

Behind the fall of David Sabatini, 'one of the greatest scientists' of his generation.

OTHER CONTENT

In the final months of World War II, 75 years ago, German citizens and soldiers fleeing the Soviet army died when the "Wilhelm Gustloff" sank

It’s not just a phase.

β€œRather than love, than money, than fame, give me truth. I sat at a table where were rich food and wine in abundance, and obsequious attendance, but sincerity and truth were not; and I went away hungry from the inhospitable board." -Henry David Thoreau