PJM - September '22

Happy TECHTOBER πŸŽƒ

The greatest time of the YEAR!

I hope you're enjoying your pumpkin soups, new iPhones, and PSL's πŸœπŸ“²β˜•οΈ

On the other hand - the war in Ukraine is escalating, markets are on the verge of collapse, inflation is on the rise, but most importantly...

My feet are cold for the first time in 2.5 years πŸ™ ...how do humans live like this!? Now I understand why Putin's so angry all the time.

Anywho let's catch up...

PROJECT UPDATES...

SwellPirate on Supabase

I've begun moving SwellPirate's database from Firebase over to Supabase. Firebase started to cost some πŸ’° and I want to get more familiar with Supabase and PostgreSQL for all my other projects.

New Project in 1 Month

During COVID I planned to make 1 project a month for 6 months. I finished 2.5 projects (which wasn't a complete failure), but I stopped after those projects because I got a job making decent money and lost motivation.

Now, after 8 months on the job - I'm bored.

The pace, project, and company don't fulfill my passions, so I think it's time I put my passion back into my own projects.

I've been brewing over my open list of ideas for my next project and have found a market I'd love to test. Due out...Nov :)

Vamos!!!

I'll be posting on Twitter if you'd like to follow along.

CURRENTLY LIVING IN...

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN'S HOMETOWN

I was so lucky to spend all of COVID in Bali, but fuuuuck I hate that it kept me away from NJ during Sept-Oct! Honestly - I missed Costa Rica, the Maldives, and South Africa, but the northeast in fall is the absolute best!

The weather, the food, the beach, the waves, the changing colors, fall foliage...everything is just beautiful 😊

________________________________________________________________

Brought to you by SafetyWing...

The best travel medical insurance to use as a digital nomad.

I use SafetyWing specifically because...

  • I can start and cancel a plan at will

  • It covers sports (surfing in particular ;)

  • It's $42/month for complete peace of mind

________________________________________________________________

CONTENT FROM SEPTEMBER...

Business | Marketing

Why engineering leaders also need to be great engineers.

Yvon Chouinard has forfeited ownership of the company he founded 49 years ago. The profits will now be used to fight climate change.

The Steve Jobs Archive is building programs, fellowships, collections, and partnerships that reflect Steve’s values and carry his sense of possibility forward.

Design | Development

AI house renderer. Yes - describe your dream house in words and get AI to render multiple options ... in seconds.

Ok - wtf. AI has been making giant leaps in the past month. Photos are one thing, but Meta (aka fuckin-Facebook) just released a video creation tool that is pretty scary.

A case study on how the government censors TV in China.

A super cool interactive globe to find 'notable' people. Zoom in on your hometown or favorite country to find out who was born there.

This is what the web looks like when you don't overpay designers to make things more difficult (*cough*TheVerge*cough*)

Travel & Remote Work

Huckberry's list of the best breweries across the country

Culdesac builds car-free neighborhoods from scratch. Come live at the first car-free neighborhood in the US - Culdesac Tempe (Phoenix) - 1000 people, 0 cars.

Best time to book flights is now.

Science

I don't want to earn my living. I want to live. -Oscar Wilde